Your Path to Greatness

Only your opinion matters


Your path to greatness…

When you embark on a new journey, one of the major obstacles that can hold you back is the perception of others. This includes your family, friends, and the people you encounter on a daily basis. Everyone harbors dreams, goals, and aspirations, whether big or small. However, many individuals allow fear to control their actions. They let their own fears and the opinions of others dictate what they should or should not do. The truth is, those people don't always have your best interests at heart, even if you believe they do. In fact, many people, including close friends, may prefer your success to remain below theirs, as it would make them feel inferior.

Ultimately, you are the one who knows what's best for yourself. The majority of people you come across in life will likely be mere acquaintances—individuals you can spend some time with and share a few commonalities. They may want to hang out with you when it suits them, but when you hit rock bottom, only those who genuinely care about your well-being will stand by your side. Everyone else will fade away. The reality is that most of your friends are not truly your friends, as Sahil Bloom often emphasizes. I wanted to underscore this point in this week's blog post.

This brings me to my third point: you should not allow your actions to be dictated by the perceptions of others. Have the courage to push through, regardless of what others think. They are not on the same path as you. Personally, I struggled with this early on in my life. I made efforts to fit into specific groups, resorting to drinking in order to "feel" like I belonged and conforming to behaviors that contradicted my goals.

To illustrate, when I made the decision to quit drinking (now ten months sober), many of my so-called "friends" questioned and rebelled against my choice. Despite my explanations in some cases, they couldn't comprehend my reasoning and simply lost interest in spending time with me. Although it was painful at first, I had to come to terms with this reality.

When you commit to daily workouts, abstain from drinking, smoking, and engaging in harmful behaviors that you know are detrimental to your well-being, those who do not have your best interests at heart will resist. However, this is actually a blessing in disguise because it allows those individuals to leave your life. In turn, those who also strive for improvement will enter your life, and those who genuinely want you to succeed will continue to support you, regardless of the path you choose. Wishing you a wonderful Sunday!

Warm regards,

Wendell